ANZAC Day is a day to commemorate those who have fallen while serving the country in combat, while also paying respects to those who are fighting in current conflicts. This is NOT a day that celebrates or glorifies war! Let me make that very clear. Today is to pay respects to men and women, past and present, that have sacrificed their lives to serve their country.

Going to Kapooka during the RYLA camp gave me a new respect for these people. I think that is what needs to be emphasised. They are people, often with spouses and children who could, and sometimes are, deployed in fierce conflict zones. They wouldn’t know when they’ll see their families again, if at all (they can keep in contact via Skype, etc).

I think another important to consider is what mant servicemen and women face with after they come home from a conflict. In some circumstances, the conflict doesn’t leave them when they get home from a war and they get diagnosed with Post – Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). These people shouldn’t be forgotten and I truly hope that any PTSD sufferers are getting the help they need. I know it’s becoming more spoken about. I just hope anyone who needs support they need.

Lest we forget. Lest we forget the sacrifice that people make and continue to make in service of this country.

