During his show, radio segment, blog (I usually only read the Herald Sun one), and newspaper columns, conservative commentator, Andrew Bolt repeatedly criticises ABC for it’s continuous political bias. To a degree, I agree with him. However, it seems to be a never – ending lament with Bolt, to no avail. I don’t know if it’s just me, but if seems that the media across the country seems to have either Labor/ Green bias (which I would argue is actually the majority) or a hard line conservative/ LNP bias (e.g. The Bolt Report, Macquarie Radio). Now apparently, legally, the commercial media outlets are allowed to be as biased as they want, but by law, because it is government funded, the ABC has to offer a range of views and partisanship. Here’s my question- where is the truth in ALL the reporting? Sure, if you’re an opinion writer or blogger, then you write your own views, and, naturally, your own biases. Fine. But when it comes to news and current affairs, shouldn’t it be based on facts and truth? Shouldn’t news reporters have, at least a moral obligation to tell the truth as best they can to their readership/ audience? It’s just something that’s been on my mind for quite a while. Do you think the Australian media is too biased? Do you trust any news sources and if so, which ones?

