Australian rapper, Iggy Azalea (real name Amethyst Amelia Kelly), cancelled Pittsburgh Pride performance when it was revealed that she made homophobic and racist Tweets when she was younger. The 25 – year – old has insisted that she supports the LGBT community and is a supporter of equality and her past online mishaps in no way reflect her current attitudes toward the LGBT.

Let me be clear, I’m not saying those tweets were right. Obviously homophobic and racist attitudes of careless comments do negatively affect people and should always be rebuked. However, I think that the cancellation of her concert was overkill. It happened years ago,and when you’re young (she’s a year younger than me), it’s easy to say the wrong thing at the wrong time. It’s all too easy to write something you later regret. Believe me, I’m not an angel online. I don’t make a habit of saying the wrong thing, but, like I said, I’ve made mistakes. This is why I hope that this blast from the past doesn’t end up haunting Azalea for too long.

 

It really raises the question, how long can a careless tweet, blog or Facebook post hang over a person’s head? I know job seekers are often warned about what they post online ANC how it could affect their future employment, but how long does the mud of a bad post/ tweet stick? Forever? Hope not! Be careful what you post/ like/ follow online. I just don’t think it’s fair that one silly post when you were young haunting you for the rest of someone’s life is fair.

 

What do you think?

