Harry Potter author J.K. Rowling has made a John Farnham-style comeback. Nearly a decade after she announced that the seventh instalment, ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’, was the final book of the series, Rowling has given in to the pleas of her fans and agreed to publish another book in the best-selling franchise.

Rowling hasn’t laid low since 2007 when the ‘Deathly Hallows’ was available to the public. Not completely, anyway. In 2012, she wrote a realistic middle-class English novel, ‘Casual Vacancy’, and in 2013 wrote a crime novel, ‘Cuckoo’s Calling’ under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

Will I read the book? Maybe one day. To be honest, I haven’t read  ‘Deathly Hallows’. I lost interest in the Harry Potter series after ‘The Halfblood Prince’, in which the book and movie turned out to be a bit of a disappointment. But then again, apparently the two parts of the ‘Deathly Hallows’ movies are good (I’ve seen some of it and it seemed OK). I might be spurred on to read the book after all. Then ‘Casual Vacancy’. Then the latest ‘Harry Potter’. Well, that sounds like my reading list for a bit… after I’ve read a few books I have on my iPad.

Are you a fan of the ‘Harry Potter’ series? Are you looking forward to the latest instalment? What’s your favourite book and/ or movie in the series?

