Family of murdered Leeton teacher, Stephanie Scott has been dealt another tragic blow. Her father, and a retired teacher, Robert “Bob” Scott, 59, has been killed in a tragic accident, when a falling tree struck him on their family farm. The accident reportedly happened around lunch time.

Tributes have flooded in for the farmer. His death came only three weeks since Stephanie Scott’s killer, Vincent Stanford was sentence to life for the rape and murder of Stephanie last year. The Sydney Morning Herald said that Mr. Scott stood by his wife, Merrilyn as she gave an impact statement on their daughter’s death at the Supreme Court in Griffith. Tributes on a Facebook dedicated to Stephanie Scott has been flooded with sorrow. Family friend and Mr Scott’s former student Emily Rose Bermingham wrote:

First beautiful Steph, now you! I literally broke when I heard this horrific news. You will be missed, you were my school mentor, my year advisor, my teacher, a family friend and not to mention my my best friend. (sic)

Another wrote:

I love you Mr. Scott, your a great man! I’m gunna miss you so much! R.I.P beautiful man! (sic)

 

I remember when news broke about Stephanie Scott’s senseless and brutal death. People in the Riverina (southern New South Wales), were horrified that something so evil could happen to a young woman with her whole life ahead of her in such a close – knit town. When I was at the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards, we had a dinner where Rotary members and their families were invited. The hall was decorated with yellow, balloons to pay tribute to her. On Facebook, people who lived in and near Leeton, posted a heart – shaped balloon on their walls and profiles in honour of her.

277259aa00000578-0-image-a-30_1428729416677

(Image: Daily Mail Australia)

Now, the family who’s already gone through so much has to endure another tragic loss caused by a freak accident. One can only imagine the pain the Scott family is going through. A community is in mourning yet again.

R.I.P Robert and Stephanie.

 

 

